Over Nth Cups of Coffee

Over nth cups of coffee
The countless, swift rotations

Of the clock
The minutes
The seconds

I have wished to conspire for my favor

The patient, “intelligent pen”

The inevitable visual marks of sacrifice
The war between my drowsy eyes
and my fighting heart

When will I see you go and done
And finally lay in the hands of a judge
The thoughts I have ignored
The walks I have procrastinated
The rest I have deprived myself of
I should not give in
How many more daydreams of a playful summer,
a restful slumber,
a debt-free tomorrow
to liberate from this little sorrow?

How many more?

A little more
In just a very little while

The countenance
of the desperation
Patiently changes

Undone
But I behold
Finished.

ok to

5 Replies to “Over Nth Cups of Coffee”

Leave a Reply

